Skip navigation

An International Centre for Excellence in Serious Games Applied Research, Business Engagement and Study

Serious Games Institute is an operating division of Coventry University


GALA network of excellence in Serious Games
The network is funded for four years through the European Union (5.65 million euros). The GALA network stems from the acknowledgment of the potentiality of Serious Games (SGs) for supporting education and training. The GALA aims to shape the scientific community and build a European Virtual Research Centre (VRC) aimed at gathering, integrating, harmonizing and coordinating research on SGs and disseminating knowledge, best practices and tools as a reference point at an international level. GALA will also set up a Serious Games Association, produce didactic books, develop a shared Masters Programme, and hosts regular summer schools and alignment schools. Prof Sara de Freitas is responsible for the Scientific Coordination of the network, leading the research and development work package. The network has 31 partners across academic and industrial experts in SG including NATO.

SGI contact: Dr Sylvester Arnab

For more information visit the project website.

Project Partners: 

University of Genoa - Italy (coordinator)

Paul Sabatier University - France 

Ministry of National Defence - Romania 

Serious Games Interactive – Denmark 

University of the West of Scotland – United Kingdom 

Atos Origin Corporation - Spain

University of Graz - Austria

Complutense University of Madrid - Spain

Coventry University - United Kingdom

PlayGen Ltd - United Kingdom

Heriot-Watt University- United Kingdom

Institute of Systems Engineering and Computers &
Research and Development in Lisbon - Portugal

Delft University of Technology - Netherlands 

ORT France - France

National Research Council - Italy 

Utrecht University - Netherlands 

TTY-Saatio - Finland 

The Unoversity of Nottingham - United Kingdom 

Bremer Institute for Production and Logistics - Germany

Norwegian University of Science and Technology - Norway

Open University - Netherlands 

Aalborg University - Denmark

Aalto-Korkeakoulusaatio - Finland

Cyntelix Corporation Ltd - Ireland

Polytechnic of Milan - Italy 

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology - Switzerland 

Foundation Esade - Spain

Graz University of Technology - Austria 

Centre Europeen d'Education Permanente - France 

NATO Undersea Research Centre - Italy 

The Rhine Westphalia University of Technology - Germany